Conspicuous Consumption by Thorstein Veblen

2.6/5 πŸ™ˆ

Hoo boy! I very much wanted to like this book but I barely made it (and took so many days, too!) πŸ˜† I picked this because I loved “The Portable Veblen” πŸ‘‡πŸ» read my review 🐿) and there were references to Thorstein Veblen, a Norwegian-American economist and sociologist.

I get that he’s really witty and hides a lot of dry humour πŸ™Š behind a deadpan face (of writing)… But I think the sentences were a bit too twisty and a bit weedy🌡so it was hard to stay focused on his ideas. The terms he used were hard to follow too. I enjoyed the first chapter but later on the economist πŸ’Ό in him took over the writer in him, and so he lost me β›‘.

🌳 My Favourite quote: “in the earlier stages of culture, when the personal force of the individual counted more immediately and obviously in shaping the course of events, the element of exploit counted for more in the everyday scheme of life.” (In other words, too much individualism in a community may cause severe imbalance) 🌳


Curiosity level: 😾 not what I expected 

Goodreads:Β https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/151827.Conspicuous_Consumption?ac=1&from_search=true

Leave a Reply

